Pine and Crane

What: Chic little Taiwanese restaurant serving satisfying entrees and apps

Where: 1521 Griffith Park Blvd., Silver Lake, Los Angeles

Pricing: This is a great spot to hit when you want a nice dinner but can’t afford anything extravagant. Prices are very reasonable and portions are huge.

Perfect for: A mid-week date or catching up with friends

I’m a bit embarrassed to admit I haven’t explored much in the way of Asian food in LA, so I was stoked to try out Pine and Crane in Silver Lake for dinner with a friend. This place is usually so packed there’s a line out the door, so I was curious to see what the hype was about. With truly delicious food and beautiful decor, we definitely weren’t disappointed.

When you enter Pine and Crane, you wait in line to place your order at the counter and then you’re sat by the hostess. I was a little apprehensive about this, but the wait wasn’t terribly long and the line moved quickly. I ordered the jidori chicken rice dish and pot stickers, both of which were huge and immensely satisfying. I’m normally not a big meat eater, but the chicken was seasoned well and satisfied my craving for something savory. Our waitress was also fantastic and went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of, even on a hectic night.

The ambiance in this restaurant is very stylish and puts you at ease right when you walk in. The decor features a lot of light wood paneling and Asian influences, and the lighting makes it feel homey and welcoming. It is a little crowded, so I wouldn’t recommend coming here if you’re looking for something quiet or want to have a very private conversation. I loved the combination of the neighborhood restaurant feel and the Asian influences.

For more LA reviews, click here.

Leave a comment