Herringbone

What: High-end seafood restaurant with fresh dishes and decor

Where: 1755 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, with additional locations in La Jolla (San Diego area), Las Vegas, Waikiki HI, and Los Cabos, Mexico.

Pricing: This is a high quality restaurant, so expect high prices to match.

Perfect for: A celebratory dinner, impressing out-of-town visitors

I don’t make my way over to Santa Monica often, but when a friend who works at Herringbone invited me to come sample some food, I jumped at the chance. This restaurant offers a huge range of delicious seafood options, as well as great wine and cocktail pairings. The service and atmosphere are both impeccable, so if you’re looking for a place for an elegant high-end dinner near the beach, this is a good choice.

Since the restaurant is by the beach, take advantage of oyster hour and start with a drink and of course, some oysters. The Far South of The Border is a great cocktail choice, particularly if you enjoy mezcal. When it comes to dinner, you have plenty of great seafood options, and everything was impeccably made. I particularly loved the scallops, which were perfectly soft and buttery. The plating is beautiful and every dish is well-portioned.

Overall, I was quite impressed with Herringbone, and although it’s not somewhere I could fit into my budget on a regular basis, it’s wonderful for a special night out. Everything was truly top notch, and it’s a great place to impress guests or a date.

For more LA reviews, click here.

Follow me on Instagram at @daytripx

Leave a comment