Egg Shop

What: Airy café with trendy décor, an open kitchen, and an egg-centric menu

Where: 151 Elizabeth St., Nolita, New York City, with additional location in Williamsburg

Perfect for: A relaxed breakfast date with your partner or a good friend

Egg Shop was another one of the many NYC restaurants I’d seen hyped up on Instagram, mostly thanks to its famous façade (which was unfortunately covered up by one of those makeshift entryways they use to keep the cold out in the winter, so I didn’t get a picture of it. Le sigh.) Egg Shop really lived up to its reputation for me, and if I lived in New York, I would definitely come back regularly for brunch. The space is so charming, and despite its status as an Insta-famous spot, didn’t feel like a scene.

But it wasn’t just the atmosphere that was pleasant – the food was really excellent too. They have a full menu of classic breakfast sandwiches, but they add unique seasonings to make them more interesting, like aioli, chimichurri, or citrus salt, just to name a few. There’s also a full menu of brunch drinks if you’d like to make things even more interesting. I would definitely add this to your itinerary for breakfast if you’re going to be in New York – and they even have a location in Brooklyn if you’re going to be on the other side of the bridge.

For more of my New York City guide, click here.

Follow me on Instagram at @daytripx.

Leave a comment